June 4, 2008

Commencement

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:42 pm by Matt Porter

Tuesday night, our school held our Commencement exercises. Commencement, used in its normal sense, means “beginning.” We mark the end of our graduate’s (yes, just one this year) school years, but we’re really celebrating the beginning of her life. It’s a bittersweet time, with tears and smiles mingling more often than not.

Today, Wednesday, is a commencement of sorts for me. It is the end of my last ever school year as a teacher, and the start of a new stage in my life. It, too is a bittersweet time, which comes as a bit of a surprise to me. I guess in spite of all the things I dislike (despise occasionally might not be over strong a word to use) about teaching, one still builds relationships with the people one is around on a regular basis. While I can definitely say I won’t miss teaching, I will feel the absence of some of my students. While I can celebrate the change in my life (and gladly forget much of the past), there is still that which I will miss. I suppose I’ll only discover which things are which over time.

Parting is such sweet sorrow.

5 Comments »

  1. Lisa Gutierrez said,

    Victor says this was a very mellow post. šŸ™‚ *I* say I’m impressed that someone managed to use that quote in a reasonable way! I was just going to ask which were the things you will miss, but I glanced back up and saw that you said you’ll have to figure that out over time. Good luck with that. And don’t move toooooo soon. We want to see you guys in Aug. Oh – who graduated? I can’t think straight about who was what year.

  2. Matt Porter said,

    I’m impressed you guys are up so late commenting on my blog. šŸ™‚ And that I happened to be playing solitaire when it came through.

    And Allison graduated. All by her little lonesome.

  3. Lisa Gutierrez said,

    Sounds like you were all by your little lonesome too if you were playing solitaire.

    šŸ˜€

  4. Lisa Gutierrez said,

    “blogging hiatus” – ??

  5. Lisa Gutierrez said,

    I’m not sure why I keep checking this. I suppose you’ll send out a memo if you ever have anything else to say – ??


Leave a Reply

