May 29, 2008

Another links post, and some other stuff

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:33 am by Matt Porter

Yes, I know it’s not time for another links post yet, but there are some here anyway. You’re free to start your own blog if you’d prefer to do things the correct way. 🙂 And I can’t believe I just used a smiley in a post…

First things first. Thank you to all of you who have responded to my last post one way or another, whether on the phone, through email, or the comment box. I appreciate both the feedback and the opportunity to discuss what I’ve been working through.

I’ve collected a few links that I think might be helpful in obtaining some more perspective on where I’m coming from. They’re written by Christians from a wide range of backgrounds, not just evangelicals; but they express many of the same things I’ve been dealing with. I apologize that so many of these are lengthy; but, like my last post, once it starts coming out, it doesn’t stop easily.

First up is the series Detoxing from Church, by Rob McAlpine. It consists of six articles, one written in 2003 and the rest selected from his bloggings since then. The links in the “Reconstruction” article are well worth following…

…especially Bill Kinnon’s “The People Formerly Known as the Congregation,” including all the links at the end of his post. Bill’s thoughts touched off a frenzy of posting, both positive and negative, and many of the criticisms of the path I’m on are touched on throughout the responses. One of those responses, “Cheeseburger, Hold the Cheese?” does a nice summary of how Bill and myself and many others feel.

That should suffice for a while…it’s a rather small sampling of many things I’ve read and resonated with over three-ish years, and I hope it’ll be helpful in understanding where I am.

Now for the fun links!

Angela has found new purpose for math in this post, which certainly should become standard knowledge for all new parents.

Here we have a presidential candidate who seems to have forgotten just how many states there are…must be suffering from staying up late trying to convince his staff to let him go to Alaska and Hawaii.

Continuing with the YouTube idea, here is subliminal advertising at work—on advertisers—and a very good reason to polish your magic act before performing publicly.

Let’s finish up with Christian Buzzword Bingo—perfect for the next time you find yourself at a preacher’s meeting or a conference, or maybe reading blogs. Extra points if you don’t have to look up “verger,” “sacristy,” or “tetragrammaton.”

1 Comment »

  1. Lisa Gutierrez said,

    Lovely. 🙂 Took me a good bit of time to get through *some* of your links tonight, in between feeding and pj-ing and putting-to-bed of younguns… Still looking forward to “Answers: Part 2” in my email inbox. 🙂 Hope you guys have a good weekend.


Leave a Reply

